Filmfare Awards 2008 announced, 53RD Fair One Filmfare awards

Filmfare awards 2008 are finally out. Akshay Kumar fans are in for disappointment as he did not win a single award. We had predicted that he’d get the Best Actor in a Comic Role for atleast one of the 5 back to back hits he had given. Sadly the category itself was scrapped out this time. It is ironical because comedy was the toast of the year 2007.

Ditto for the Filmfare Award in a Negative Role, there was no award itself…God
knows why, Viveik Oberoi and Arjun Rampal who were supposed to be favorites in this category have not got their due.

Now for the report card. …Shahrukh Khan won the Filmfare Best Actor award 2008 for his underplayed role of a hockey coach in Chak De India. This time Shahrukh Khan joins Dilip Kumar as the person who has won the highest number of Filmfare Best Actor awards ever.
Kareena Kapooor won the Filmfare Best Actress Award 2008 for her role in Jab We Met. She got the award from none other than Saif Ali Khan(a picture perfect moment). Best Film 2008 went to Taare Zameen Par. The Best Director’s Award went to Aamir Khan who beat the likes of Shimit Amin, Farah Khan, Imtiaz Ali,Anurag Basu and Mani Ratnam to get the award. Of course, Aamir Khan never turned up for the award.

Filmfare Best supporting actor award went to Irrfan Khan. Though his role was more comical, he should have got the Best Actor in a comic role and Aamir could have suited the Best Supporting Actor award(he was nominated) for his splendid portrayal in Taare Zameen Par. But then we cannot question the results can we?

Filmfare Best Supporting Actress award went to Konkana Sen Sharma for her role in Life in a Metro. The Best Music award for 2008 went to A.R.Rahman for Guru (funny Taare Zameen Par wasn’t even nominated, though people liked it so much!). The Best lyrics award went to Prasoon Joshi for Maa. Shaan won the Filmfare Best Male Playback singer award for his rendering of Jab se Tere Naina (Saawariya) and Shreya Goshal bagged he Filmfare Best Female Playback singer for her sweet rendering of the song “Barso Re”(Guru).

Deepika Padukone won the Best Female Debutante 2008 award. Quite obviously Sonam and Anil Kapoor did not attend the award. Ranbir Kapoor won the Best Male Debut award 2008 for his role in Saawariya. To add more to Sonam’s woes, Deepika Padukone also won the Fresh Face of the Year award.

Filmfare critics awards:
Darsheel Safary won the Critics awards for Best Actor 2008 for his role in Taare Zameen Par.
Tabu won the the Critics awards Best Actress for her performance in Cheeni Kum.
Director Shimit Amin won the Critics award for the Best Director while Chak De India won the
Best Film 2008 in the critics category

Here are the Filmfare 2008 awards for technical categories:
Best story: Amol Gupte(Taare Zameen Par)
Best dialogue: Imtiaz Ali (Jab We Met)
Best screenplay: Anurag Basu(Life in a Metro)
Best Action: Rob Miller(Chak De India)
Best Art direction: Samin Chanda(Guru)
Best choreography: Saroj Khan(Barso Re, Guru)
Best background music-A.R.Rahman(Guru)
Best cinematography: Sudeep Chaterjee(Chak De India)
Best editing: Amitabh Shukla(Chak De India)
Best sound: Dwarak Warrier, Leslie Fernandes and Madhu Apsara for Johnny Gaddar.
Life Time Achievement award: Rishi Kapoor
R.D.Burman Music award: Monty Sharma(Saawariya)
Power award-Yash Chopra and Aditya Chopra(Dunno how because of the films by Yash Raj had flopped left, right and center, except for a Chak De India. Guess, they got the "power award" because they are powerful in the film industry..... Filmfare awards itself was hosted at Yash Raj studios!

Now for our readers, what do you think?
Do you think Akshay Kumar got a raw deal and Vidya Balan’s talent in Bhool Bhulaiya went unnoticed?
Do you think it is stupid for Taare Zameen Par not to be nominated in the music awards, while Saawariya is included?
Do you think Jab We Met should not have got the Best dialogue awards considering the likes of Chak De India, Taare Zameen Par or Om Shanti Om had better dialogues?
Do you think the Best Music should have gone to Vishaal-Shekhar because they provided variety in their album while Rahman was predictable?
Do you think Darsheel Safary should have got the Best Actor award?
Do you think 53RD Fair One Filmfare Awards is indeed a Fair One?
Share this article :
Support : Creating Website | Johny Template | Mas Template
Copyright © 2011. Entertainment-3 - All Rights Reserved
Template Created by Creating Website Published by Mas Template
Proudly powered by Blogger